Three teams opt out of AHL season
Pro Hockey Rumors 2hrs ago

The AHL will have a season, but it won’t be with 31 teams. The Charlotte Checkers, Milwaukee Admirals and Springfield Thunderbirds have all elected to opt out of the 2020-21 season. All three will return for 2021-22. After a board of governors call Monday, the league announced realignment for the upcoming season that will see 28 teams operate in five divisions. Those divisions will be as follows:

© Dirk Shadd/Tampa Bay Times/MCT/Sipa USA


Bridgeport Sound Tigers

Hartford Wolf Pack

Providence Bruins


Belleville Senators

Laval Rocket

Manitoba Moose

Toronto Marlies


Binghamton Devils

Hershey Bears

Lehigh Valley Phantoms

Rochester Americans

Syracuse Crunch

Utica Comets

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins


Chicago Wolves

Cleveland Monsters

Grand Rapids Griffins

Iowa Wild

Rockford IceHogs

Texas Stars


Bakersfield Condors

Colorado Eagles

Henderson Silver Knights

Ontario Reign

San Diego Gulls

San Jose Barracuda

Stockton Heat

Tucson Roadrunners

Several teams have also secured provisional relocations. The Binghamton Devils will play in Newark, New Jersey; the Ontario Reign will play in El Segundo, California; the Providence Bruins will play in Marlborough, Massachusetts; and the San Diego Gulls will play in Irvine, California.

The league will play a schedule with variable lengths for each division but will have a minimum of 24 games. The league is hoping to start on Feb. 5, though an official schedule has not been announced yet.

Subscribe to Yardbarker's Morning Bark, the most comprehensive newsletter in sports. Customize your email to get the latest news on your favorite sports, teams and schools. Emailed daily. Always free! Sign up now ▸

More must-reads:

Related slideshow: Every NHL team's likely next retired number (Provided by Yardbarker)

Show More
Latest News